UClub Awards 3 Scholarships to BPS Students

Pictured left to right: Brent Berc, Samuel Obanla (2012 recipient), Mayor Thomas Menino, Joana Rosa (2012 recipient), Joao Gomes (Madison Park High School Guidance Counselor, Joana’s), Dr. Linda Cabral (Academic Superintendent of BPS), City Councilor John Connolly.

The University Club of Boston announced recipients of its “Future Leaders of Boston” scholarship awards.  The winners include three Boston Public High Schools students:  Nancy Figueroa of East Boston High School; Samuel Obanla of Boston Preparatory Charter School and Joana Rosa of Madison Park High School..  Each will receive $5,000 annually for four years of college, totaling $20,000 per student, to help defray tuition and related costs.  The recipients will be entering college this September.  Ms. Figueroa will attend Northeastern University.  Mr. Obanla and Ms. Rosa will attend The University of Massachusetts Amherst and Boston, respectively.

“There are a lot of very qualified students who don’t have enough resources – even with financial aid, loans and contributions from their families – to cover the full cost of attending college today,” commented Brent Berc, University Club Board Member and Chair of the Club’s Scholarship Committee. “The University Club scholarship program helps fill that gap.  Our members value the opportunity to support Boston’s youth and future leaders.”

This year’s scholarship recipients were honored at a June 7 award ceremony at The University Club attended by The Honorable Mayor Thomas M. Menino, City Councilor At-Large John Connolly, Boston Public Schools Academic Superintendent Dr. Linda Cabral, students and their families, and University Club members.

Since its inception in 1977, The University Club “Future Leaders of Boston” scholarship program has awarded more $500,000 to Boston Public Schools students, helping them to attend college and realize their dreams.  Past scholarship recipients include graduates of Boston College, Boston University, Harvard University, Northeastern University, Smith College and The University of Massachusetts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.