Civic Association Holds 90th Annual Meeting

Attending the 90th annual meeting of the BHCA were from left: Rep. Marty Walz, Chris Owens, Anna Camargo and Linda Cox.

The Beacon Hill Civic Association (BHCA) held its 90th annual meeting at the Union Club on Monday, May 21.

At that time, the BHCA swore in its new officers for its 2012-2013 fiscal year, including Steve Young, who replaces Ania Camargo as chair and Keeta Gilmore, who takes over for Young as president. Pel Stockwell was named as treasurer for the second consecutive term.

The event also marked the departures of longtime board members Linda Cox, who will stay on as chair of the Civic Association’s Parks and Public Spaces Committee, and Jeannette Herrmann, who also served as BHCA president from 2003 to 2005. Jay Livingston and Michael Bruck replace them as new board members.

Sharon Malt, who was instrumental in facilitating Hill House’s move from 74 Joy St. to the Firehouse at 127 Mt. Vernon St., was the recipient of the 16th annual Beacon Award in recognition of her “significant and sustained contribution to the community.”

Suffolk University Historian Robert Allison delivered the keynote address, speaking on the topic of “90 Years of Civic Engagement on Beacon Hill.”

Meanwhile, the BHCA membership voted unanimously to adopt a new amendment to the organization’s bylaws, stating: “Each spouse/domestic partner in a paying membership category of ‘family’ or higher is considered a ‘member’ in connection with meetings of ‘members.’”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.